VIA ELECTRONIC FILING

Honorable Mark C. Christie Chairman State Corporation Commission 1300 E. Main Street Richmond, VA 23219

Re: Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Temporary Suspension of Tariff Requirements Case No. PUR-2020-00048

Dear Commissioner Christie:

We greatly appreciate the State Corporation Commission's continued efforts to protect Virginia consumers during the economic crisis caused by the Coronavirus pandemic ("COVID-19"). Please accept this informatory letter in response to issues and questions raised in the Commission's May 26 Order in the referenced docket.

In its Order, the Commission asserted that the current moratorium on utility service disconnections for nonpayment "is not sustainable" and could result in costs being "unfairly shifted to other customers." The Order also suggested that this moratorium could have "negative impacts on small, less-capitalized utilities and member-owned electric cooperatives," which "could impact vital services to all customers of such utilities."

The Commission requested comment regarding whether the current moratorium should be continued, and if so, for how long. The Commission also asked commenters to identify "the programs and mechanisms, public or private, that will provide sufficient funding to ensure that the costs of unpaid utility bills are defrayed and will not result in even higher costs on other utility customers."

Given the unprecedented nature and breadth of this crisis, it is our considered opinion that the above issues raised by the Commission will require legislative action. We are currently evaluating novel legislative options that could mitigate the financial hardship faced by our constituents as well as those of Virginia's public service companies, recognizing as the Commission notes, the significant variance between the types of utilities serving Virginian customers. Our consideration of potential legislative options is hindered, however, by insufficient data on the extent of the problem. To allow us to better evaluate potential policy options, we request that the Commission obtain, or compel the production of, the following information from all regulated public utilities on a weekly basis:

• The number of residential and non-residential customer accounts of each utility currently in arrearage, as compared to historical averages;

- The number of residential and non-residential accounts disconnected in the current year and not reconnected;
- The total current arrearage balance of each utility, as compared to historical averages;
- Information regarding each utility's revenue and earnings history;
- Information regarding each utility's financial strength and debt service reserves;
- The magnitude of late fees and penalties that would have been charged absent the moratorium; and
- Any other data the Commission may deem relevant.

We ask that the Commission publish and/or provide this information to the Governor and members of the General Assembly as soon as possible.

This additional information will allow the General Assembly to more fully consider and propose legislation, potentially in an emergency legislative session to address the COVID-19 crisis. In the interim, we consider it advisable that the Commission keep the current moratorium on disconnections in place through August 31, 2020.

Thank you for your service to the Commonwealth during this difficult time.

Sincerely,

Neurifer L. Meccel

Senator Jennifer McClellan Senate District 9

Delegate Dawn Adams House District 68

hugh las

Delegate Terry Austin House District 19

Delegate Jay Jones House District 89

as he cal And

Delegate Lashrecse Aird House District 63

yal

Delegate Hala Ayala House District 51

R. Le Wore

Delegate Lee Ware House District 65

Delegate Alex Askew House District 85

Delegate Jeffrey Bourne House District 71

aa

Delegate Jennifer Carroll Foy House District 2

Cauir & Cayr

Delegate Carrie Coyner House District 62

Delegate Joshua Cole House District 28

endy Gooditit Maney

Delegate Wendy Gooditis House District 10

Delegate Kelly Convirs-Fowler House District 21

Delegate Nancy Guy House District 83

AMan

Delegate Elizabeth Guzman House District 31

Delegate Dan Helmer House District 40

Delegate Patrick Hope House District 47

Delegate Chris Hurst House District 12

Delegate Kaye Kory House District 38

Delegate Clinton Jenkins House District 76

Delegate Mark Keam House District 35

Delegate Paul Krizek House District 44

Delegate Mark Levine House District 45

Alfonso H Sgn

Delegate Alfonso Lopez House District 49

and & Mm

Delegate Mike Mullin House District 93

Delegate David Reid House District 32

Julles

Delegate Mark Sickles House District 43



Delegate Suhas Subramanyam House District 87

Delegate Roslyn Tyler House District 75

1cB

Delegate Delores McQuinn House District 70

Kennett A Mun

Delegate Ken Plum House District 36

Martha M.

Delegate Martha Mugler House District 91

Delegate Sam Rasoul House District 11

lànica Ko

Delegate Danica Roem House District 13

Delegate Marcus Simon House District 53

Luke E. 20

Delegate Luke Torian

House District 52

House District 72

Delegate Ibraheem Samirah House District 86

Delegate Shelly Simonds House District 94

Delegate Kathy Tran House District 42

Delegate Vivian Watts House District 39

3

Schuye Vm Valhaling

Delegate Schuyler VanValkenburg

Delegate Michael Webert House District 18

Senator John Bell Senate District 13

Elin

Senator Adam Ebbin Senate District 30

Shaph Hasl.

Senator Ghazla Hashmi Senate District 10

The Masa

Senator Monty Mason Senate District 1

Lionell Sprink Sn.

Senator Lionell Spruill Senate District 5

pohy F. Willett

Delegate Rodney Willett House District 73

Senator Jennifer Boysko Senate District 33

Senator John Edwards Senate District 21

Senator Louise Lucas Senate District 18

Jaen/ousse

Senator Joseph Morrissey Senate District 16

ony Wito

Delegate Tony Wilt House District 26

Senator Creigh Deeds Senate District 25

rubrua Favola

Senator Barbara Favola Senate District 31

ale

Senator Dave Marsden Senate District 37

Senator Chap Petersen Senate District 34